Make your own free website on


VOTE HERE! and see the RESULT until today.




Disclaimer: The list below is based on each boxer's last name.

1. Muhammad Ali
Started his pro career 1960 until 1981, Muhammad Ali - previously known as Cassius Clay, has booked professional fight record of 56-5 (57 KO). He was nicknamed as "The Greatest" as he always proved every words he said before afight was done. Ali was also known as the one who invented rope and dope technique in boxing. "Dance like a butterfly and sting like a bee" was always reflected in his fights. Ali was the first man in the world who succeeded to be a three times Heavyweight champion, before Evander Holyfield did it again in 1997. Ali fist got the world title after defeating Sonny Liston by KO7 in Miami Beach, Fl, February 25, 1964.

2. Ezzard Charles
He fought in 1940-1959, and finally became a world champion in 1950-1951 after he defeated the legend Joe Louis on September 27, 1950 in New York. After he lost his title defeated by Jersey Joe Walcott (PA, July 18, 1051), Charles failed twice in his attempt to get back the title from Rocky Marciano in 1954.

3. Jack Dempsey
The 1919-1926 Heavyweight world champion , Jack Dempsey, fought in professional boxing in 1914-1940. He first got his title from Jess Willard in Toledo, OH (July 4, 1919). He then lost the title in September 1926 after defeated by Gene Tuney in Chicago, IL.

4. George Foreman
"Big George" started his pro debut in 1969 and ended it nicely in 1997. He is the oldest Heavyweight world champion in history, and he has become a legend for that. Collecting 76 wins (68 KO) and only 5 losses, Foreman was really an amazing champion. He first got the title by defeating Smokin' Joe Frazier in Jamaica by KO2 (Jan. 22, 1973). Ali seized the title on October 30, 1974 by KO4 in Kinsasha, Zaire. He decided to retire after Jimmy Young defeated him in 1997, but then he made a spectacular moment when he knocked out Michael Moorer in Las Vegas when he was 45 (January 23, 1989).

5. Joe Frazier
He was world champion in 1970-1973, the time of the toughest competition in heavyweight world. Frazier fought in 1965-1981 and collecting 32-4 (27 KO) fight record. He got the Heavyweight title in February 16, 1970 from Jimmy Ellis by KO5 in NY. He was forced to give the crown to Foreman after he was KO'd in round 2.

6. Larry Holmes
This "Easton Assassin" almost got the 49 consecutive victories as Marciano did, but he failed after Michael Spinks defeated him in 1985. Holmes (66-6, 42 KO's) boxed from 1973-1997. He was a consecutive champion for 7 years, 1978-1985. Holmes got the world title on June 9, 1978 from Ken Norton by points in Las Vegas. In his come back, Holmes has tried to get back his lost title several times, including Tyson (1988), but he never made it.

Evander Holyfield
"The Real Deal" is a very religious boxer. Until today, he has gathered fight records of 35-3 (25 KO's). He was Cruiserweight champion (1986-1990), then to KO James Douglas in round 3 on October 25, 1990. He is the second man in history after Ali who could be the 3 times Heavyweight world champion. He is considered as a legend after his 2 consecutive spectacular victories against Tyson in 1997.

8. Jack Johnson
Johnson, 78-13-11 (49 KO's), boxed in 1897-1945. He was the world champion in 1908-1914 after defeating Tommy Burns in Sydney by KO14 (December 26, 1908).

9. Sonny Liston
Liston was the 1962-1964's Heavyweight champion. He professionally boxed in 1953-1970, owning fight records of 50-4 (39 KO's). Liston got the title from Floyd Patterson by KO1 in Chicagi, IL. (September 25, 1962).

10. Lennox Lewis
Lewis became the Brittish pride after becoming the world champion defeating Tonny Tucker by points on May 8, 1993. After being defeated by Oliver McCall by KO2, Lewis has returned to be the world champion since 1994 until today. He has fight records of 33-1 (27 KO's).

11. Joe Louis
Louis was the world champion in 1937-1948, with fight records of 68-3 (54 KO's). He professionally boxed in 1934-1951, and to get the world championship crown on June 22, 1937 by KOing James Braddock in round 8 in Chicago, IL.

12. Rocky Marciano
He is the only man in history having a consecutive victory record 49-0 in his Heavyweight career. Marciano, started his debut in 1947 and announced retirement in 1956 when he was still a champion. The Brocton Blockbuster, the way he was called, seized the heavyweight championship title from Jersey Joe Walcott by KO13 on September 23 in PA. Marciano, the original Rocky, died in a plane crash in August 31, 1968 when he was 46.

13. Floyd Patterson
The former youngest heavyweight champion before Tyson did it. This 1956-1962's champion got the title on November 30, 1956 by defeating Archie Moore (KO5) in Chicago, IL. Since his professional debut (1952) until his retirement (1972) Patterson has collected 52 wins (40 KO's) - 8 - 1.

14. Max Schmelling
This German pride was the champion in 1930-1932, that the title was taken from Jack Sharkey by disq. 4 (New York, June 12, 1998). Schmelling's boxing record (1924-1948) is 56-10-4 (39 KO's) - He was forced to give the championship crown to Joe Louis after he was KO'd in round 1 on June 22, 1938.

15. John L. Sullivan
"Boston Strong Boy" was born in 1858, started his professional debut in 1878. He became the greatest in Heavyweight after sending Dominic McCaffrey in round 6 on August 29, 1885. He was the champion until 1892 before he retired in 1892. His boxing record was 41-1-3 (36 KO's)

16. Gene Tuney
Tuney, 1926-1928 champion, started his pro career in 1915 and retired in 1928. He got the title from Jack Dempsey on September 23, 1926 in Philadelphia. His record noted 65-1-1 (47 KO's).

17. Mike Tyson
"Iron" Tyson was declared as the most scarry boxer of the century, following his outrageous KO victories in early rounds. This controversial fighter started his pro career in 1986 and got his world title on November 22, 1986 from Trevor Berbick in Las Vegas (TKO2). He was then inactive for being enjailed (1992-1994), and got again his lost champion belt on March 16, 1996 by defeating Frank Bruno by TKO3. One worst thing in his life was when he was suspended from boxing after he bite Holyfield's ears in an emotional fight in 1997. He's planned to return to the ring in this year.

18. Jersey Joe Walcott
Started his pro debut in 1930, Walcott became the world champion on July 18, 1951 by defeating Ezzard Charles (KO7) in PA. After he lost his belt in 1952, he tried to get it back for several times with failures. Finally he decided to retire in 1953 after being KO'd by Marciano in the first round in Chicago, IL. He had bout records of 53-18-1 (33 KO's).


1. The Internet Boxing Records Archieves
2. Rocky Marciano Site
3. 3615, Boxing Avenue

My Previous Articles